Deejay Postie: You Must Stay At Home

As the citizens of the world find themselves trapped in an unexpected virus-inflicted, dystopian nightmare; controlling the popular message and affecting the behaviour of the population has become a primary concern of Governments worldwide.

In the information age we live in, this means competing for airtime with an online world has gone into meltdown with wild-eyed conspiracy theories and endless counter-narratives to the government controlled slogans being delivered to the population through an often-distrusted mainstream media.

In part one of a two-part mix*, Postie presents a cut-n-paste-n-mix-n-edit musical examination of some of these narratives set out in a rough timeline of events and sound-tracked to appropriately-titled drum breaks, hip hop, funk , soul and Jazz music. All tracks recorded from vinyl** .

In layman’s terms… some nerdy, political, musical collage, mixtape shit!

* Part 2 coming soon from Spot 2 – aka “HML”
**Except where no vinyl is available

  1. You Must Stay at Home (intro) – Deejay Postie
  2. Going Home – Black Grass
  3. Coming Home – Swindle feat. Kojey Radical
  4. Going Back Home – Nina Simone
  5. Who Is the Hunter, Who Is the Prey? – Sorcerers
  6. Ghost Town – DJ Shadow
  7. Ghost Town – Elvis Costello and the Roots
  8. Stay Away – Charles Bradley
  9. Don’t Touch Just Watch Me – Mountain Mocha Kilimanjaro
  10. Communication – Melt Yourself Down
  11. Stranger Than Fiction – Moses Boyd
  12. Death Moves – Dabbla
  13. 1000 Deaths Demo Version – D’Angelo
  14. I Woke Up in a Fucked-Up America – Lonnie Hollie
  15. New York is Killing Me – Gil Scott-Heron
  16. Question Time – Dave
  17. Realise – Cykada
  18. Your Freedom is the End of Me – Melanie De Biasio
  19. Fulfilment House – 1000 Kings
  20. Crowded – Coops
  21. The Recluse – Cymande
  22. Philosopher II – Ezra Collective
  23. State Of The Union Freestyle – Jehst

Leave a Reply